This week I’ve been making machine-knit circuit samples using conductive thread, in preparation for a Wearable Technology course that I teach at OCAD University.  Bridging out from this, I’ve also created some samples of machine-knit muscle wire (SMA) that contracts the knit at 12V 1300mA.  Because I am using wool, it does not burn.  However, the contraction is slight partly due to the weight of the material and the tension of the knit.  I’ll be experimenting with finer wool knits later today, and will some photos and video of successful experiments.  For now, here is a photo of muscle wire in a knit.  It is difficult to see, but if you look carefully you can see a thin black wire coursing through one row.

Image

Above: sample of machine knitting with muscle wire

Below: sample of machine knitting with conductive thread

Image

Image

Image

Below: Teaching OCAD students to create machine-knit complete circuits

Image